2009 BSFA Award Winners


The 2009 British Science Fiction Awards ceremony took place at the 61st Eastercon convention, Odyssey 2010, at the Radisson Edwardian Hotel, Heathrow, London, UK. The lavish ceremony was hosted by Ian Watson and Donna Scott, and the following awards were presented:

Best Novel 2009 – China Mieville, ‘The City and the City’
Best Short Fiction 2009 – The Beloved Time of Their Lives Ian Watson and Roberto Quaglia
Best Non-Fiction 2009 – Mutant Popcorn by Nick Lowe
Best Artwork 2009 – Cover of ‘Desolation Road‘ by Stephen Martiniere
The awards were presented by Iain M Bank, Liz Williams, Alastair Reynolds and Mike Carey.
The BSFA Awards are voted for by members of the BSFA and Eastercon. The shortlist was drawn up earlier this year from nominations received by members of the BSFA and the final vote was held on the 4th April 2010, followed by the ceremony. Works published in the UK for the first time in 2009 were eligible for these awards,
If you should have any questions regarding the BSFA Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator, Donna Scott atawards@bsfa.co.uk


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.